Skip to content

Fireflies and Double Trouble the Super Squirrel!

June 13, 2009
It’s that time of year again. School has let out and the Fireflies are back, so I guess that means Summer is headin’ down the road in our direction fast. At dusk I see the wooded area of my small wildlife habitat start to light up with beautiful yellow flickering lights, just bobbing and weavin’ all around…. and I find my self sittin’ next to my patio doors, with my little pen light…. flickin’ it on and off while movin’ it all around and in a skinny minute I have several dozen fireflies all over my patio…lol… of late they are safer on my patio than around the trees….. why? you may be askin’…. well, it’s because of “DT” …one of the young male squirrels from the first born early, very early this Spring and he has been rightly named as Double Trouble…. at dusk he will chase the fireflies from tree limb to tree limb and from tree to tree non stop…. I’ve had to send him home packin’, with a note to his mom that if he doesn’t start playin’ nice I’ll have to start some behavior modifications of my own. DT takes awhile to learn….. if ever…lol…. he doesn’t seem to know how to walk…. only run, jump and long flyin’ leaps through the air with hope that he will be able to grab a small tree limb or vine and climb it to get away from the trouble he has stirred up! This little trouble maker still climbs up the door frame and hangs up side down to eat out of the little bird’s feeders…. even when there is much more food right on the ground…. but that’s no fun….. now not climbing down the fence to get on the patio, but standin’ on top of the 6 ft fence and leapin’ a good 3 to 4 feet in the air to land on the patio is fun. He likes to run off the other young critters of all kinds….. so mom didn’t fix the problem, so I have had to employ some behaviour modifications. And pop his behind with the air pellet gun and then all the critters run off….. but the second part of this has been startin’ to help….. oh the second part you ask?  Well, …lol… that’s peer pressure…. yep all the others don’t want to get run off so now if he starts to get bad all the other critters chase him all over the patio… lol… looks like they are doin’ that matrix stuff… runnin’ up and side ways along the wood fence… across the ground and up and over the fence! Some times they even chase him up the trees and all over the trees…one after the other….. he has even gotten himself in a tight spot by only being able to hold on with one hand while hangin’ on a tiny tree branch, but some how that wild critter was able to catch another small vine and climb back up to the main part of the tree! He just seems to have mischief enough for two squirrels!  His mom sent me a note back and asked if I had any helpful hints to make him behave…. I will not give her my airgun nor my super soaker…lol… that is what I use when he climbs into my plants. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see if he out grows this, that is if he should live that long…lol..  The sun has come up and I’ve had to stop 5 times already to make DT stop runnin’ the birds off from their food and climbin’ the doors again….. oooohhh there has to be one in every bunch I guess…lol… I must say one thing for him and that is he is totally fearless……. hhuumm or maybe just not very smart…. no that’s not right…. just lackin
 commonsense….. yeah I guess that covers it….. hope no one out there is havin’ the same problems…. lol…. yeah right…… I’ll look for peace, patience and sanity….. and for anyone else that has squirrels the same for you too….. until our paths cross again…. Lila
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dori permalink
    March 31, 2010 3:33 pm

    Hi Lila,

    I am interested in the photo you have by Gale, entitled “Lightning Bugs.” Could you send me some information about where you got it? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Dori

    • March 31, 2010 8:07 pm

      Dori,

      I found this one online after googling “fireflies”. There were many listings for this photo so I picked several of the sites to give credit. In addition to the two listed there is also one on blogjmlynch.org ….there are many of this same photo on line. I’m not sure if this helps or not. Thank you for stopping by and if I can be of any help in any other way just let me know.
      Lila

  2. June 13, 2010 8:54 am

    Such a funny blog wow !!!!

  3. September 22, 2010 11:10 am

    Baby Squirrel, During his stretch oneself, it is very funny. They do so. After wake up Almost every time.

  4. December 5, 2010 12:01 pm

    This can be frequently a extremely smart browse on behalf of me, Must admit that you’re one particular in every in the best bloggers I actually saw. Thank you for posting this informative content.

  5. December 6, 2010 10:10 am

    Hey, i’ve been reading this weblog for a while and have a question, maybe you can help… it’s how do i add your feed to my rss reader as i want to follow you. Thanks. With regards, Vannessa.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

