Skip to content

Entry for May 23, 2009 We had a new visitor!

May 23, 2009
"Oh, what big eyes you have! My, what a sharp beak you have! Oh my, what big, sharp talons you have!"

"Oh, what big eyes you have! My, what a sharp beak you have! Oh my, what big, sharp talons you have!" *5

Boy did we have a surprise visitor and it wasn’t good either! All the good outside day crew were just getting settled in for the night, all was just about quiet…. when suddenly I heard all the Blue Jays, Cardinals, Brown Thrashers and even the squirrels were screeching and barking[squirrels bark]. When I opened my door and looked up I could see everyone of them jumping from limb to limb. I couldn’t tell what was up…. then I saw they were all looking in the same direction and I saw something big in the tree and it was too close to sun down for it to be one of the hawks… and this was bigger than any of the hawks we have around….. so with the help of my trusty binoculars I got a big surprise indeed! There sat one Barred Owl who who was a good 21 to 25 inches in height….. and he was lookin’ for dinner I think….. never seen one around here before. He stayed put just watching and waiting…. then my phone started ringing and he opened his wings to fly off and OMG his wing span was about 3 1/2 to 4 feet across. They eat birds too! After he left all got calm again and by morning all was back to normal and taking care of babies, fledglings and juveniles picked up where it left off! Some of the feathered critters are now on their second round of nesting, which means all the juveniles are no longer welcome at the nest, yep they have been dropped off on my patio. It now looks like a play ground with young critters here from sunrise to sunset….. and some don’t play well with others! So, I’ve been busy… but don’t let that stop you from coming by and taking in the view…. there is always a rockin’ chair for ya and that cool breeze is just right…. so put your feet up and relax… you might even hear the critters playin’ in the birdbath…… be at peace with yourself and all that is around you and enjoy it ….. until our paths cross again…….. Lila

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 8:08 pm

    First of all, I had no clue that squirrels could bark, so thanks for that information. Second, I just can’t believe you were that close to such a huge owl, I am sure I would have wet my pants if I was there!

Leave a Reply

