Skip to content

Da Byrd Is Randomly Ramblin’ But….hey…it’s OK….really.

October 25, 2010

 

          So many times we rush about doing all the “right” things and working to keep on the path less traveled.  The path we are told is the path that will lead us to a better place or our spiritual reward when our time comes to leave this world.   Yet we still tend to lose out on some of the benefits of that least traveled path.  We focus on following all the rules and that’s not a bad thing.  It’s rewarding to serve others, to be kind and to teach our family to do the same.  I know it might sound like the old cliché to “…take time to stop and smell the flowers…” but it’s more than that, as we don’t have to wait to receive some of our reward….well for those that believe in an after life the best is yet to come and for those that don’t believe in an after life they can enjoy along with the rest of us the many wonders and beauty all a long the path less traveled.  We all should slow down and enjoy what is around us right now!  Lift our eyes up and side to side, under a few leaves and around the next curve. Enjoy and nurture the graceful beauty all around our path.  But don’t take it for granted either.  Be thankful and respectful of what has been intrusted to our care along the path less traveled…..for we will have to give an accounting of our deeds while traveling this path.  So slow down…..look around and create some of those soon to be memories long ago lost and unknown awaiting to be rediscover in another time and place…..be at peace with all around you and let grace be your companion until our paths cross again…… Lila

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 7:23 am

    Hi Lila – just popped in from Richard Wiseman’s puzzle.

    Buried in my collection of obscure CDs I have a song about The Road Less Travelled written by a duo of Australian folk musicians. It’s not one of my all-time favourite songs ever or anything, and I don’t know whether you’d like it or not, but I might as well quote you a couple of verses.

    Here’s the first verse:

    My friend walks the road less travelled
    An unsealed road of discipline
    She’s sometimes led and sometimes driven
    Sometimes hungry, sometimes fed.
    While we, the many, walk a highway
    Lit so bright it must be true
    She walks lanes that too few enter
    Where tiny lanterns dot the gloom.

    And here’s the last verse:

    My friend walks a track that’s stony
    An uphill climb to God knows where
    Sometimes she’s touched by an ache so poignant
    Sometimes she’s driven to despair.
    While we, the many, skirt the painful
    We, the many, anaesthetise
    My friend looks, she seeks her darkness
    She digs to find the better prize.

    They also wrote a song based on the Hungry Caterpillar.

    • October 25, 2010 8:45 am

      Thanks I like that….I keep a few things hanging around to post when I can’t focus on a blog post….lol….that’s when I head for Richard’s blog….and be confused or silly and just take my mind off how I feel… right now temp is 101 degrees so I doze off and on waiting my doctor to call back and tell me if I can do my antibiotics at home or hospital….ewww…lol…sort of cool when I sit up and the room spins around…lol…I’ll have to try and find the music you posted….like it!

      • October 25, 2010 9:05 am

        I don’t think you’ll have much luck finding it … but drop me a line (dragon at netyp dot com dot au) and I’ll rip you an mp3.

  2. October 28, 2010 10:17 am

    Nicely written 🙂

    I completely agree and understand you advice of “Slow down”. It’s one of the most important things to remember throughout life – So many people forget to just stop and take time to live, rather than just existing.

    By the way, I finally stepped foot on American soil, having just returned from a visit to New York yesterday – I’ll definitely visit NYC again – An absolutely amazing experience. Looking forward to more and more exposure to American states as the years go on.

Leave a Reply

