Skip to content

They Call Them The Breeze As They Must Be Moving On….

April 1, 2014

 

waxwing-flock-993

      Woke up this fine morning to what sounded like a wild party going on next to my bed. Sat up and looked out my glass patio doors and there was a party in full swing on my patio! Rubbed my eyes and put on my glasses and looked again. Yes, there certainly was some partying going on. Someone……hmmm maybe DT Jr. {Double Trouble the Super Squirrel’s son} must have snuck into my home and borrowed {I use the term “borrowed” loosely when used in regard to DT and any of his kin} my iPod and speakers. I say this because Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “They Call Me the Breeze” is rocking my glass patio doors. I must say that what I saw did put a smile on my face, once I got past my impolite awakening. My feathered friends where rocking out. The Dark-eyed Juncos were shaking their tail feathers, while the Yellow -rumped {Myrtle} Warblers were doing the “Myrtle Beach Shag” all over the patio.The Mourning Doves weren’t mourning this morning, as a matter of a fact, they had their under bellies hiked up and were doing a line dance across the patio, just missing the tail shaking Dark-eyed Juncos. Some of the Brown-headed Nuthatch were hanging upside down working their way outwards on a tree limb pecking at bugs to the music’s beat, while the White-throated Sparrows, Carolina Chickadees and Carolina Wrens were a hoppin’ and a boppin’ to the tune. The Chipping Sparrows and the House Sparrows had paired up to shake their tail feathers too! The American “Red-breasted” Robins were high-stepping it while pulling worms from the compost pile and the Eastern Towhees were doing a “double back scratch” along side a Hermit Thrush {who was making a rare appearance} was raising and lowering its tail feathers to the rhythmic beat of Skynyrd’s music. All the while the squirrels were keeping time from their spot on the fence and some Cedar Waxwings were keepin’ an eye on everyone while perched way up high.

     Spring must be here, even though it still feels more like winter every other day. My feathered friends seem to know better than I do and this is their reason for one last party, before the winter friends must leave northward bound, as mating fever sets in. My local feathered friends have started claiming the best nesting spots and soon the rush will be on to set up house keeping and before I know it there will be fledglings and juveniles all over my patio! Yes, Spring must be here. I think I’ll make a cup of coffee and enjoy my soon to be departing feathered friends while I still can. It won’t be long now and I will have a new crew of feathered friends migrate to my patio. Just an other reason to have more patio parties!

     So, check out your own back yard or patio and have a party or two with some of your feathered friends and let them put a smile on your face and joy in your heart until our paths cross again……… Lila

Photo by: http://www.dyfiospreyproject. 

PLEASE NOTE IF YOU ARE READING THIS AND YOU ARE NOT ON THE WEB SITE “LILA’S ROOM WITH VIEWS…” THEN WHAT YOU ARE READING HAS BEEN  STOLEN AND IS BEING USED WITH OUT MY AUTHORITY AND I HOPE YOU WILL COME TO MY WEB SITE BLOG AT WORDPRESS https://birdladybydayakalilabyrd.wordpress.com

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

