Skip to content

Shouldn’t the wild life in our National Parks be safe from hunters?

April 4, 2014

REUTERS_Lucy Nicholson       I happened to notice that the Yellowstone Bison was trending and thought it was some of the same old thing about the hazing and slaughter of bison when they unknowingly leave the boundaries of the park.  I was wrong.  What is trending is that the  Nez Perce Native Indian tribe is wanting to have the right to hunt within the National Park.  Really?  I am not going to get into the Native Indian’s right to reclaim lost land and such, as what I’ve read so far they are not asking for the land…. just the right to go and hunt where NO ONE ELSE has a right to hunt.  So, why should they?  I will not get “all worked up” {as some of my friends call it when I start writing letter, e-mails, phone calls…} about it right now as it seems to be in the “just talking about it for now”.  Some of the things written about the bison’s health is….. lets say not completely correct and some I would have to throw down a “bull shit” flag if I was going to get “all worked up” about it right now….. but I’m not.  For now I will keep an eye on the issue so I will know if or when I need to get “all worked up”.

     There is an ongoing issue with these same bison.  One, I have worked on with the National Wildlife Federation through their Leader’s Club for which I am a long time member.   That is the hazing and slaughter of these majestic animals just because the can’t read signs or know when they are crossing boundaries out of their protected park.  Over the years we have worked on “Adopting” and “Retiring” grazing lots around these borders so that ranchers can lease other and better grazing lots further away and prevent contact between their livestock and the bison.  Now there is another way to help.  Here is the link from one of my updates: Help more people speak up for Yellowstone bison—please share this alert with your friends.  While you are there go to their home page and look around.  NWF has a great website with fun information too .  They are also on my blog roll with a direct link to their home page. 

     I think I’ve said my piece for the day.  Now I think I’ll just get some rest and later visit with some of my wild critters that visit me on my patio….. come join me anytime there is always an empty rockin’ chair or go and enjoy some critter of your own until our paths cross again…….. Lila

 

PLEASE NOTE IF YOU ARE READING THIS AND YOU ARE NOT ON THE WEB SITE “LILA’S ROOM WITH VIEWS…” THEN WHAT YOU ARE READING HAS BEEN  STOLEN AND IS BEING USED WITH OUT MY AUTHORITY AND I HOPE YOU WILL COME TO MY WEB SITE BLOG AT WORDPRESS https://birdladybydayakalilabyrd.wordpress.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

